Seven California Schools Receive 2018-2019 RAMP School Honor

The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) recently announced that seven California schools became Recognized ASCA Model Programs (RAMP). One of these schools also received the RAMP School of Distinction award, which honors schools with exceptionally high-caliber school counseling programs based on rankings determined by a panel of RAMP reviewers. 

The 2018-2019 California RAMP schools are:
  • Ambuehl Elementary School, San Juan Capistrano
  • Avaxat Elementary School (School of Distinction), Murrieta
  • Campus Park Elementary School, Livingston
  • Capistrano Valley High School, Mission Viejo
  • Hidden Hills Elementary School, Laguna Niguel
  • Las Flores Middle School, Las Flores
  • Selma Herndon Elementary School, Livingston
These schools will be honored at a recognition ceremony at ASCA's 2019 Annual Conference in Boston, Mass., on Monday, July 1, 2019. 

The RAMP designation, awarded for aligning with the criteria in the ASCA National Model, recognizes schools committed to delivering a comprehensive, data-informed school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. Since the program's inception, nearly 900 schools have been designated as RAMP recipients. 

This year, 71 schools nationwide will receive the RAMP designation. 

In response to the recent RAMP announcement, CASC President Amy Dauble-Madigan exclaimed, "Knowing California ratios are higher than most states in the nation, it is with even more pride that we are one of the top states in the nation with the most RAMP award recipients this year! 
I know that the winning teams of school counselors put in a lot of effort and hard work in completing their application and in evaluating their school counseling programs. On behalf of the CASC Board of Directors our heartfelt congratulations to individuals involved in this rigorous process!" 

RAMP applications are reviewed once a year by a panel of school counseling professionals, who assess the school counseling programs in 12 different areas of expertise. The next submission deadline is Oct. 15, 2019. For more information on the program, visit